Soulful Symphony with Darin Atwater Home
Contact MPT

Founded in 2000 by composer and artistic director Darin Atwater, Soulful Symphony is an assemblage of some of the finest instrumentalist and vocalist committed to the highest artistic values.

Our name comes from the combination of Soulful, which means, “expressing deep feeling,” and Symphony which means “harmony of sounds.” It is both our name and our nature. We use the word symphony loosely, for it is our mission to redefine the traditional symphonic experience. Like a musical Lego set, we expand and contract, pushing the limits of creativity.

In 2004, Soulful Symphony forged an historic joint venture with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, partnering with the organization to bring our unique brand of music to new and diverse audiences throughout Maryland. Since partnering with the BSO, Soulful Symphony has performed to sell-out houses at both the Joseph Meyerhoff Symphony Hall in Baltimore and the Music Center at Strathmore in North Bethesda.

Soulful Symphony serves as a year round producer of programming ranging from well known to adventurous, from large scale to intimate, from formal to informal, from programs for adults to programs for children. Soulful Symphony covers it all for the most complete experience possible, a new sound for a new century.

As a not-for-profit arts organization, Soulful Symphony is dedicated to the preservation of African-American cultural expression and to the presentation of symphonic music. Soulful Symphony is a repository for the exploration of diverse musical expressions: classical, jazz, gospel and popular forms capturing a universal language that gives all cultures common ground.


The Symphony


First Violins
Orlando Wells
Phil Payton
Wayman McCoy
Marcia McIntyre
Carlos Baptiste
David Yarborough
Jonathan Jones
Juiliet Jones
Edith Yokely
Renee London

Second Violins
Tarrah Reynolds
Mariana Green-Hill
David Burnett
Sean-David Cunningham
Chala Yancy
Lerna May Frandsen
Russell Graham
Leonard Brown
Bonita Grier
Michelle Ruiz

Aundrey Mitchell
Chris Jenkins
Robin Massey
Leslie Delaine
Dawn Smith
Richmond Punch
Sharon Bingham

Patrice Jackson
Kenneth Pearson
Ryan Murphy
Richard Brown
Elise Cuffy
Deanna Purdie

Kalya Okuri
Tony Bellamy
Brian Fountain
Ephraim Woolfolk

Tim Green
James Cheeks
Courtney Nero
Jacob Yofee

Tage Larsen
Chris Royal
Dontae Winslow

Brandon Rivera
Christopher Rivera
Isa Robinson

Orlando Cotto

Rhythm Section
Chris Dave (Drum Set)
Shedrick Mitchell (Piano)
Darin Atwater (Piano)
Adam Johnson (Electric Bass)
Guy Robinson (Organ)

Shante Carter
Stacy Atwater
Paula Huggins
Melanie Winborn
Mashica Winslow
Aisha Wyatt
Andrea Albert
Ingla Coles

Cynthia Hardy
Jana Harris
Rochelle Archellus
Tammy Turner
Umeki Neverson
Nicole Wilson
Britney Wright

Tim Bradley
John McClure
Jonathan Nelson
Shaun Hoggs
Martellies Warren
Joshua Lay

Taiwan Norris
Ryan Golson
Anthony Brown





  © 2009
Maryland Public Television
Site Designed & Developed by:
SGE Web Development